The picturesque little town of Pajara only has a small population despite its administrative importance on the tourist centres of the Jandia peninsula.
Pajara village (not to be confused the municipality of Pajara) has a small population of around and the town (for Fuerteventuran standards) has a fair amount of trees and bushes. There are even lawns and a freshwater swimming pool. Just outside the Town Hall sits a fine old disused 'camel driven' waterwheel, and close to that is the leafy church square.
The church (Iglesia Nuestra Senora de la Regla) was built between 1687 and 1711 and is one of the most beautiful on the island. There are many different motifs decorating the glamorous stone doorwayand the Virgin that stands at the altar was brought to the island by a wealthy emigrant (allegedly from Mexico).
The church opens from 11am till 1pm and in the afternoon from 5pm till 7pm.
Not far from Pajara is the small quiet town of Tuineje. It was close to here in 1740 that 37 farmers armed with just five muskets and various agricultural implements battled against a 50-man English pirate troop that were carrying guns and cannon. The battle took place on the Montaña de Tamacite and surprisingly, even with their lack of weapons, the local people won the battle attacking the English before they had time to reload. Thirty Englishmen and five local Fuerteventurans' (or Majoreros) were killed that day, and two captured the cannon that can still be seen in front of the museum in Betancuria today.
This scene has also been immortalized in a painting in the church 'San Miguel Arcangel'.
Click the thumbnail boxes icon to reveal thumbnails.
Picasa's Pajara Slideshow
Write a Review of Pajara !
Please click the 'recommend' button and leave a review.